Garbage & Recycling

Please join us for an open house regarding the Old Kimberley Landfill Closure on October 29, 2018. Click here for details.

Please note:  Due to a change in procedure, we will now be accepting propane tanks from 100 lbs and down, at our sites.

The RDEK operates 5 urban transfer stations, 15 rural transfer stations and 2 landfills.

In the RDEK, we have a strong focus on recycling.  We have a yellow bin recycling program with over 600 yellow bins out across the East Kootenay for the collection of recyclables.  In addition to the RDEK's yellow bin program, there are a number of provincial recycling programs, known as Provincial Extended Producer Programs.

To learn more about our recycling program, the provincial extended producer programs (like oil, tires, batteries and electronics), or to get the hours of operation for specific transfer stations or landfills, visit the links from the menu on the left.

You can also email your questions to:


2018 Annual Groundwater Monitoring Reports


Last edited: Thu, November 15, 2018 - 3:17:57