Home » News » Here

Seasonal Prohibition on Sale of Fireworks in Rural RDEK Now in Effect

The sale of fireworks is currently prohibited in the rural parts of the RDEK.

The seasonal prohibition on the sale of Fireworks runs between May and October each year, and we want to remind both business owners and the general public that the sale of fireworks in the rural parts of the RDEK is now prohibited. 

As a regional district, the RDEK is not able to regulate the use of fireworks as a municipality might. The use of fireworks in rural areas is governed by Provincial restrictions, which prohibit the use of fireworks anytime there is a Category 2 Open Burning Ban in place.

The RDEK’s bylaw prohibits the sale and disposition of fireworks between May 1 and October 1 and applies to any person or business within rural Electoral Areas A, B, C, E, F and G.